The Unknown owners of the IPL Teams

IPL – 8 has begun. This is the one format of cricket, with which many celebrities are involved. This is one reason, why IPL so popular. The most popular team is Mumbai Indians from the all eight IPL teams. Neeta Ambani is the owner of this team. The Country’s richest Businessman’s team also supported by the all movie stars. Besides Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knigh Rider’s owner Shahrukh Khan, Kings Elevan Panjab’s co-owner Prety Zinta and Rajasthan Royals co-owner Shilpa Shetty, these all the celebrities are well known. However, there are some teams, whose owners are not so popular.

Here we are presenting you the unknown Owners of the IPL teams.

owners of the ipl teamsKolkata Knigh Riders: In 2008, Bollywood star Shah Rukh Khan’s Company Red Chillies and Juhi Chawla and her husband Jay Mehta’s Company Mehta Group together bought this franchise in 75 million (INR 466.4 Crore). However, Sharukh Khan seems much as team owner. 


owners of the ipl teamsRoyal Challengers, Bangalore: UB Group chief Vijay Mallya purchased this team in 2008. Itwas the most expensive team in the IPL. He bought this team in 111.6 Million dollars (INR 694.2 crore).

owners of the ipl teamsKings XI Punjab: This is the Founder team of the IPL, but this team is mostly recognized as Preity’s team. The team is having four owners, who bought this team in 76 million dollars (INR 472.6 Crore). The team owner share as bellow:

Bollywood actress Preity Jinta- (23%)

Ness Wadia -Wadia- Group (23%)

Mohit Berman- Dabur Group (46%)

Karan Paul – Surendra Group 

owners of the ipl teamsSunrisers Hyderabad: This team was made in 2013. Sunrisers Hyderabad had replaced Deccan Chargers team in the IPL. Sun TV network purchased this team nearly about INR 85 Crore. The deal is for five years.

The owner of the Team Kalanidhi Manran is the sun Group chairmen and MD. Sun TV network is the Asia’s largest News Network. They have total 32 TV channels and 45 FM radio stations.

owners of the ipl teamsChennai Super Kings:  One of the founder team of IPL. In 2008, India Cements bought this team in INR566.15 crore and became the fourth most expensive team in IPL. After the Controversy in 2015, it became Chennai Super Kings Limited Company.

A Srinivasan, the vice president and Managing director of the India Cement is owner of this team. He is the former BCCI president and present chairman of the ICC.

owners of the ipl teamsDelhi Daredevils: In 2008, GMR Group bought this team in 84 Million dollars (INR 522 Crore).

GMR group is the best Infrastructure Company in Bangalore. The company’s sister company GMR sports, who bought the Delhi Daredevils team.

owners of the ipl teamsRajasthan Royals: In 2008, Emerging Media bought this team in 67 million dollars (INR 416 crore); this was the cheapest team of the year.

Manoj Badel, Chairman of the Emerging Media Group is the main owner of the Team.

In, 2009 Shilpa Shetty-Raj Kundra bought 11.7% shares of the team in INR 96 Crore)